Interview with Author Ronald Joseph Kule

About the Author

RJKHeadshot10Where did you grow up, and how did this influence your writing?

I was born in Colombia, which gives me a definite sense of sangre with other Colombians. However, most of my childhood was spent in New Jersey and Pennsylvania – American father, Colombian mother. My heritage affected my writing more than locales. As early as seven years of age, I was aware of my desire to write. I also believe that we live many lifetimes, so I feel there are deeper reasons and events in my past that continue to affect my passion today.

What motivated you to become an indie author?

The plain fact is that writing a book is not like baking a cake. It’s hard work, at times mind-numbing work; work which taxes my eyes, mind, typing fingers and bottom! What I’m getting at is this: if I’m going to spend 8-10 months, or longer, banging out a work that I feel is worthy and might change a few lives for the better, or at least entertain, I might as well ensure that I have the best possible chance at getting paid enough for my work so I can keep doing it. That’s where indie publishing makes sense, because I’m going to see some exposure, have a decent return for my efforts, and get this gratification within a few days after I complete my work.

How has indie-publishing contributed to your success?

It exposes my titles on channels beyond my usual reach, which gives me at least a shot at people discovering my work and then liking it. It is easy to get formatted and up online quickly.

What is the greatest joy of writing for you?

Playing with words. I mean, c’mon, these symbols that we call “words,” are my playthings! Other kids have their sandboxes, shovels and pails… I have WORDS, PHRASES, SENTENCES, GRAMMAR, PARAGRAPHS, CHAPTERS and GENRES!

What do your fans mean to you?

Well, do I have fans? I’m still learning about them. My readers are the other end of my communication line. I know that without them I would have no purpose in writing, and I don’t just mean “fans,” but all of my readers. Ultimately, it’s not up to me to determine their estimation of my work, but I hope to entertain, provoke, change and, ultimately, please them.

What are you working on next?

Adding two more books to my “LISTEN MORE SELL MORE” sales-training series, and then starting more biographies, including the story of an Oscar-nominated, Brit Award-winning jazz musician and film composer; another about a famed chef, and then completing one about a self-made network-marketing millionaire. Plus, some fiction projects are in progress.

Who are your favorite authors?

No question that Gabriel Garcia Marquez is first in my heart, because we are both from Colombia. His work is exquisite to read aloud, his imagination so fertile. Next is Ernest Hemingway for his control; and then L. Ron Hubbard for pacing — both are master story-tellers. Certainly, Pat Conroy warrants my interest for those passages where he just waxes eloquent beyond measure.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?

The chance to write something better for my readers than what I wrote the day before.

When you’re not writing, how do you spend your time?

When I’m not writing, I’m not all here. Is there, really, ever a time when I’m not writing?
*****
Books by the author Ronald Joseph Kule may be found on his website page: http://ronkulebooks.com/
Leave a Reply

